It is possible that musician Cardi B could face jail time if she fails to appear at her upcoming court date. The Judge issued this warning to the rapper after Cardi B failed to appear in arraignment court earlier this week. She was due to appear in arraignment court on Monday to address her alleged involvement this past August at a strip club in Flushing, New York. Cardi B was allegedly “throwing chairs, bottles and hookahs [smoking pipes] in the club at 3 a.m.,” assaulting two bartenders. The female rapper turned herself in to the police in October and she was charged with misdemeanor counts of reckless endangerment and one misdemeanor count of assault. Her lawyer cited that she missed her first court date because of “prior engagements.” On her next scheduled court date, she is also due to perform at New York's Jingle Ball concert which takes place at Madison Square Garden on Friday night.
Reckless Endangerment in Washington State
Cardi B was charged with two counts of misdemeanor reckless endangerment. In the state of Washington, any action that can endanger others can snag you a reckless endangerment charge. In fact, the law in Washington says,
- “A person is guilty of reckless endangerment when he or she recklessly engages in conduct not amounting to drive-by shooting but that creates a substantial risk of death or serious physical injury to another person.”
In Washington, a reckless endangerment charge is a gross misdemeanor. If you are convicted of reckless endangerment you may face 90-days in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
Assault in the State of Washington
Cardi B was also charged with one count of assault. In Washington, there are four different categories of assault: Assault in the first, second, third, and fourth degree. Assault in the fourth degree is the lightest possible degree of assault in Washington and is the only level of assault that is charged as a misdemeanor. Therefore, had Cardi B committed her alleged crimes in Washington, she would most likely have been charged with Assault in the Fourth Degree.
What does Washington law say about assault in the fourth degree? Basically, a person in Washington is guilty of assault in the fourth degree if they assault another and the circumstances do not amount to first, second, or third degree or custodial assault. The penalties that accompany a conviction of assault in the fourth degree can land you in jail for up to one year, cost you up to $5,000 in fines, or a combination of both. Keep in mind, you may find that charges such as reckless endangerment and assault also become domestic violence charges if the facts and circumstances call for such an event.
Contact a Seattle Criminal Defense Attorney
If you or a loved one has been arrested for reckless endangerment or any level assault, you need the help of an experienced and dedicated criminal defense lawyer. Attorney Steve Karimi is a top-rated defense attorney in the King County area. He is a former prosecutor who now uses that knowledge and insight into prosecution strategies to fight for the rights of those accused. Contact the Law Offices of Steve Karimi today.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment